An Invitation To Join Me On A Special Journey

18 Jun

Since retiring on April 1st — that’s 72 days ago — I’ve been trying to make the adjustment from the 9 to 5 world to one with very little structure. It’s been quite an adventure. For the first 6 weeks I experienced a kind of decompression and a sense of disorientation. Of course, the temptation is to sit back and relax. But I’m resisting it–although that hammock is pretty comfortable. Like many retirees, I don’t intend to stop working. Retirement offers me the chance to do something of value, but on my own terms. Arts Ally is a natural extension of the type of work I’ve been doing all along. At the Canada Council for the Arts I worked in communications, in particular online communications and managing operations providing grants and services for artists and arts organizations. Before leaving, I spent a significant amount of my time researching online marketing and social media trends. This was a great opportunity to learn, but it isn’t over. I will continue to explore and learn now that I have even more opportunities than ever. As I do, I will share my experiences and observations with you. Of course, my interests remain in the online communications and marketing sector, including social media, mobile and new media. And I will continue to focus on artists, arts organizations, public and not-for-profit organizations. I recently attended an online marketing event in Toronto and will attend a very special event this weekend at the National Arts Centre called Podcasters Across Borders. Stay tuned and you can follow me at the conference!

One Response to “An Invitation To Join Me On A Special Journey”

  1. claude schryer July 16, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    Hey arts ally, good luck on your journey, fare well and see you down the digital road, and remember, keep your ear to the ground

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

